Follow-up fake 1st UK Peanut!

These are differences that need to be looked for when buying 1st UK Beanie Boos.

I can't stress this enough: STOP BUYING from the eBay seller HOMEPAGE2009!


Thank you Sonya Saville for the pictures!

Write a comment

Comments: 74
  • #1

    /:)Sheila (Wednesday, 18 February 2015 16:12)

    I feel bad you got a fake peanut! It doesn't feel good to get a fake. I'm calling ty today about my tush tag crisis!

  • #2

    Nnylhsa lovv (Wednesday, 18 February 2015 17:26)

    This is horrible! I can't believe someone would take the time to make a fake beanie boo.....

  • #3

    BeanieBoos_boy (Wednesday, 18 February 2015 18:02)

    This fake Peanut looks very real to me. Only diehard collectors will be able to tell the difference. Others will be fooled. Do your research before buying any rare ty!! If the seller doesnt say its 100% authentic direct from ty, or that they personally purchased it from a ty retailer, or it isnt authenticated , then i wouldnt buy it because you are taking a chance!! BUT yea, the fake fabric looks pretty close to the real fabric. The only give away to me is the tush tag, since its not looped. Im sure HOMEPAGE has lots of these and seems to be selling them off one by one. Now, if you dont care about it being fake and want to have it in your collection, i guess there is no harm in buying. Thanks for posting these pictures!! Love your site!! Xavier from Chicago!

  • #4

    Sonya Saville (Wednesday, 18 February 2015 20:48)

    Your very much welcome Daphne. I hope this information is very helpful for other collectors to see. BEWARE: Homepage selling counterfeit TUNDRA, GOLDIE, CANDY CANE, ICEBERG, BUBBLEGUM, CLEO already spotted as counterfeit. I am in contact with eBay in dispute concerning Homepage2009 selling fakes. Happy collecting!!

  • #5

    Libby (Wednesday, 18 February 2015 21:42)

    awww i got mine from there

  • #6

    Mandy (Wednesday, 18 February 2015 22:31)

    Hey!! Sheila- what is Ty's number??

  • #7

    /:)Sheila (Wednesday, 18 February 2015 22:36)

    Sorry Mandy, I forgot. What did you want to call them about? You could email ty. Go to ty.com and click contact. Then, you can email ty.

  • #8

    Sonya Saville (Thursday, 19 February 2015 03:44)

    I got Homepage2009 put his fake Peanut off the ebay!!! It has some bidders up to $61.00 and he cancel the listing. We are still working in dispute to get my money refunded. I will have eBay start to step in by Feb 20th to resolve these matters. Finger crossed!

  • #9

    allthingsbeanieboos (Thursday, 19 February 2015 09:07)

    Oh no- i just bought a Goldie off him for £4.53- @Sonya Saville when it comes in the mail,will it definetly be fake?

  • #10

    allthingsbeanieboos (Thursday, 19 February 2015 09:20)

    And how come all the boos homepage 2009 was selling have disappeared from ebay? I'm really panicking now that when my goldie comes from homepage 2009,it will be fake !!!! Is this true ?

  • #11

    allthingsbeanieboos (Thursday, 19 February 2015 19:15)

    Another counterfeit boo from Homepage 2009 is Junglelove-i wasted £8 on her only to receive a fake !!!!!

  • #12

    Sonya Saville (Thursday, 19 February 2015 19:49)

    Good news!!! Homepage2009 accept my refunded money!!! All I have to do is send the package back to him!!! I am so so happy!!!!
    @allthingsbeanieboos-really??? Omg...all listing from Homepage2009 disappaeared???

  • #13

    /:)Sheila (Thursday, 19 February 2015 20:32)

    That sounds fishy. The only ty product is this blues clues plush. I bet he is a crook seller and didn't want to be figured out!

  • #14

    allthingsbeanieboos (Thursday, 19 February 2015 21:38)

    Yay @Sonya Saville !! Yes,all the boos have vanished from his ebay shop!! I have ordered Goldie a while back from Homepage 2009,i am worried when he arrives he'll be fake!! @Sonya Saville,will it be counterfeit?

  • #15

    Sonya Saville (Saturday, 21 February 2015 05:23)

    It is highly possibility. Check its tush tag to make sure it's same as your boos with matching color hangtag. I just noticed Goldie's hangtag from Homepage2009 has whites on eyes instead of yellow. It might be counterfeit.... But please let me know.

  • #16

    allthingsbeanieboos (Saturday, 21 February 2015 08:18)

    Ok when it comes in the mail-i'll keep you posted,if it is fake,will he give me a refund?

  • #17

    Camille (Saturday, 21 February 2015 09:17)

    Hi I was wondering if anyone knows Homepage2009's other Ebay accounts? I saw something on Instagram about it, are they "barefoot crib", "newcaptain168", & "good-day toys"? They all have that same msg as his account, gone til Feb 24. Also does anyone know if happybaby2811 sells counterfeits as well? We bought 2 Goldie's from this seller, still waiting for them. I am afraid they are fake. Thanks for your input!

  • #18

    allthingsbeanieboos (Saturday, 21 February 2015 10:27)

    i think those accounts are related to Homepage 2009 as they are all based in the same part of China.I would be careful which China sellers you buy off so there is a 70% chance they are counterfeit.My Goldie arrived today from Homepage 2009 and his tush tag is like a weird pinky purple colour and he has quite a few loose threads.He came without a hangtag so i think he's fake.What are your thoughts on this?

  • #19

    Camille (Saturday, 21 February 2015 11:07)

    I am definitely not an expert, but whenever they come without a hangtag, but claim to be new, it makes me nervous that it's not true or maybe fake. Homepage2009 & Happybaby2811's Goldie's look a little different to me in the pictures as well, just the color of the fur, and the face. I just jumped at the price, I got 2/$50, so it's probably fake. I think it matters more if your a serious collector, but if it's for a toy/fun, and as long as it looks cute, no major problems such as loose threads or falling apart, and such a good knockoff that we can't tell, then it doesn't bother me! (I buy for my kids). Yours might be fake, not quite sure, but if it bothers you, you can get a refund through the seller or Ebay.

  • #20

    Frances (Saturday, 21 February 2015 14:42)

    Has anyone who ordered from the seller had any of their suspicious items reviewed by Peggy Gallagher (or another authenticator of TY products)? Or the ones they are comparing them too? We have purchased a few from Homepage2009 and none have appeared to be counterfeit. We did get one with an eye defect, but it was listed as such. We don't really care either. We are collecting for a child who is more interested in the animal, so not even a factory defect bothers her much...it endears her to it more (LOL). But, perhaps if our daughter ever wants to sell her collection, certain ones may need to be checked... it would be nice to keep track of which ones. :) We have several, not from Homepage or affiliates, from other countries. Because TY isn't publicly listed, I can't see a summary of their global manufacturing. So we are just taking them all on faith. LOL!

  • #21

    /:)Sheila (Saturday, 21 February 2015 15:34)

    Camille-I've always wondered if homepage2009 has more accounts! I have a feeling he does! I'll check out Happybaby2811 too!

  • #22

    allthingsbeanieboos (Saturday, 21 February 2015 16:22)

    Thanks @Camille i think i'll get it authenticated and if it is fake,i'll get a refund as i have 178 beanie boos and i really don't want a fake!! And @Frances - Sonya Saville has had a few authenticated- I don't know whether they were genuine or not...

  • #23

    Daphne (Beanie Boo collection) (Saturday, 21 February 2015 16:31)

    @BeanieBoos_boy, Thanks! I'm glad you like my site and I totally agree with you :)

  • #24

    Daphne (Beanie Boo collection) (Saturday, 21 February 2015 16:33)

    @Sonya Saville, I'm glad you got that one Peanut offline and really nice that you can get your money back! :o

  • #25

    Daphne (Beanie Boo collection) (Saturday, 21 February 2015 16:34)

    @Frances, A TY worker recently told us that normally even Peggy Gallagher hasn't the right to decide if Beanie Boos are real or not, only TY self can make sure of that.

  • #26

    Frances (Saturday, 21 February 2015 16:49)

    @Daphne, Does TY offer a service for authenticating? I checked ebay seller policies and if there is a claim against one product, ebay takes down all similar products offered by the same seller. So more than likely, the listings were taken down by ebay when they realized he had other Beanie Boos on his site after Sonya alerted them to Peanut. Interesting about the other stores. The Seller policy also has store limits on number of listing and price. So I guess there are a lot of groups of stores that all link back to the same store or person. Has anyone had any experience with the "Prototypes"? I saw that a couple of years ago (around the time that the Justice and Claire's Exclusives would have been in the works) there were "prototypes" on the market (I think sold by Homepage 2009) that were not retailed but some were absolutely adorable! We'd love to have some even if they aren't TY. Is there a market for prototypes.

  • #27

    Camille (Saturday, 21 February 2015 17:39)

    Your welcome @allthingsbeanieboos, I hope you either find out its real, or are able to get your money back!! Thank you for all the great info from all of you! It's so interesting to compare what everyone knows!

  • #28

    allthingsbeanieboos (Saturday, 21 February 2015 18:19)

    @Camille thanks-yes it's great !!

  • #29

    /:)Sheila (Sunday, 22 February 2015 16:36)

    Frances- I saw prototypes from a seller named ms.kBeans, I think. Keep in mind she was selling counterfeit polka dot elephants. Also there are link mane Dakotas online. You can search on ebay beanie boo prototype and it should show you all the prototypes listed on ebay.

  • #30

    allthingsbeanieboos (Sunday, 22 February 2015 18:22)

    @/:)Sheila - I have bought from Ms.K Beanz before and the beanie boos i got were genuine.Also when she sold the polka dot elephants,she didn't state they were Ty products;It just said 6 inch spotty elephants and that the make and brand were unknown.

  • #31

    Beanie Boo Queen (Monday, 23 February 2015 00:33)

    I believe that Homepage 2009 got taken down

  • #32

    allthingsbeanieboos (Monday, 23 February 2015 08:04)

    Yep

  • #33

    Daphne (Beanie Boo collection) (Monday, 23 February 2015 18:00)

    @Beanie Boo Queen, Yes, I believe so too.

  • #34

    Daphne (Beanie Boo collection) (Monday, 23 February 2015 18:09)

    @Frances, I don't think TY offers a service for authenticating.. A TY worker told me once that they didn't even sell their prototypes, but I can't find the text anymore, it was here somwhere on my site.

  • #35

    allthingsbeanieboos (Saturday, 28 February 2015 19:50)

    Hi Everyone !! I just wanted to let you know that i got an email on eBay from Homepage 2009 and he told me that Peanut is fake.

  • #36

    Beanie Boo Queen (Sunday, 01 March 2015 21:52)

    @allthingsbeanieboos I'M CALLING THE POLICE RIGHT NOW!!! (Not literally) but seriously something needs to be done

  • #37

    /:)Sheila (Monday, 02 March 2015 03:36)

    Police:"Whaaa"

  • #38

    Nnylhsa lovv (Monday, 02 March 2015 07:00)

    The POLICE! Yeah if beanie boo police were actually a thing I actually WOULD call them!!! LOL It's so terrible that people would go through so much trouble for their money. It's horrible! How greedy people can be....

  • #39

    allthingsbeanieboos (Monday, 02 March 2015 16:22)

    Yep i agree @Beanie Boo Queen

  • #40

    Daphne (Beanie Boo collection) (Monday, 02 March 2015 16:51)

    @allthingsbeanieboos, Did he really tell you Peanut was fake? That's really weird that he confesses now after all this time; it's against his own business. But again he didn't have much of a choice with all of us against him as Beanie Boo spies xD

  • #41

    allthingsbeanieboos (Monday, 02 March 2015 22:05)

    @Daphne,yes he did !! He said they were fake and he had some in stock so if I wanted to buy one I could.I'm not going to though!!

  • #42

    /:)Sheila (Wednesday, 04 March 2015 05:42)

    Just curious, how much would homepage2009's peanuts cost? I'm not going to buy one.

  • #43

    allthingsbeanieboos (Thursday, 05 March 2015 20:38)

    I don't know- he never told me

  • #44

    /:)Sheila (Friday, 06 March 2015 16:40)

    Thanks anyways!

  • #45

    allthingsbeanieboos (Friday, 06 March 2015 17:24)

    Ok XD

  • #46

    Beanie boo lover (Friday, 13 March 2015 22:46)

    Great job Sonya YAYAYAYAYAYAY Sonya

  • #47

    Tammy (Wednesday, 18 March 2015 06:08)

    When purchasing a Beanie Boo from Ebay, beware of the sellers who are located in China. If you notice, quite a few of the Boos have no hang tags (why is that?) or have a defective eye or completely different colored eyes than they should have. I've been an Authorized TY Retailer since 1997, and I've never had an item arrive with different colored eyes or defective ones for that matter. Why do some of these Chinese sellers have product months and months ahead of time before they are introduced? How is it that they have new Boos months before I can even order them? Well, I hate to burst everyone's bubble here, but I'm going to say they are all counterfeit. Back when the Beanie Babies were a hot item in the late 90's, there were tons of fake beanies being produced out of China and guillable people were paying big bucks to purchase these. I would NEVER buy from anyone in China. Better safe than sorry.

  • #48

    Tammy (Wednesday, 18 March 2015 06:15)

    Here's another seller on Ebay with questionable Boos.
    good-daytoys

    Again, why so many Boos with defects and no hang tags and brand new
    Boos that haven't even been introduced here in the United States?

  • #49

    KP (Thursday, 02 April 2015 15:49)

    Hello. I recently got a 2012 Dakota from e bay. I suspect it is not real sicne the hang tag only says "Dakota" with no little saying or birtdate. Do you know anything about this? The seller is from the US. Thank you!

  • #50

    Dee (Saturday, 04 April 2015 07:00)

    I am an authentic TY retailer. I have been carrying TY products since 1999 and Ty Beanie BOOS since they were introduced in the US in 2010. I have seen many different versions of Beanie BOOS. There are some earlier styles that did not have poems. Those are keepers, as long as they are authentic. There are versions of Dakota that come with no poem. The Italian versions do not have a poem in them. They are harder to find and more valuable. There are a little bit smaller than the regular Dakota and the fabric is softer. The tush tag also states Italy. If you bought it on ebay, it was probably priced higher than the regular Dakota.

  • #51

    KP (Tuesday, 07 April 2015 15:41)

    Thanks Dee! It is interesting because this one is also smaller. I will have to check to see Italy is on there. So if it is smaller with no poem, do you think it could be authentic? The seller has thousands of positive ratings with no negative feedback.

  • #52

    Daphne (Beanie Boo collection) (Saturday, 11 April 2015 12:27)

    @KP, I've bought Beanie Boos in Italy and there are indeed smaller, but they are authentic :) I personally love the smaller Boos in Italy, they're cute :)

  • #53

    Chakrakahn (Wednesday, 01 July 2015 21:33)

    Greetings Ty Enthusiasts:
    Facts: Ty Products are handmade in China.
    None of you have any idea what goes on in these factories.
    Each one of you (almost) says not to buy from sellers in China but they are the ones
    with the product first. Much of what you are buying are actually considered "seconds". They did not pass inspection in the final stage of creation. They were suppposed be be destroyed...but really? Do you think they destroyed thousands of plush because the nose was crooked? Or the ears were too big? Some are what you call counterfeit are definitely because the tush tags and paper tags are created after the actual item is no longer being made.The companies in China that make Ty products charge Ty pennies for each one.They think we are all fools for spending such money on plush animals. If you spend more than 5 dollars for a small plush animal you ARE a fool. Goodbye and good luck.

  • #54

    beanie boo101 (Sunday, 05 July 2015 01:16)

    i looked on eBay and he was so much money.

  • #55

    Jenny (Monday, 13 July 2015 02:08)

    its so rude of them to make fake ones. The fake ones are not as cute as the real ones.

  • #56

    Josie (Sunday, 09 August 2015 22:02)

    That is a. Cute beanie boo. But you can do better

  • #57

    Evie (Sunday, 17 April 2016 00:11)

    I got a fake one too. The tush tag and feet made it so obvious. I was dumb enough to get it tho

  • #58

    Lps Coconut milk Shopkins mlp lps (Tuesday, 03 May 2016 01:12)

    WOW my 2 bffs on yt bought it! No they have a fake! 3:

  • #59

    Jjo (Sunday, 04 December 2016 12:08)

    Can u tell me any more accounts on eBay to look out for?

  • #60

    Daphne (beanieboocollection) (Sunday, 04 December 2016 13:26)

    @Jjo, I would probably say most Chinese sellers.

  • #61

    Needmoreboos (Monday, 12 December 2016 19:23)

    I just wouldn't suggest buying beanie boos from China. I guess it is possible that some are authentic, but in my opinion it isn't worth the risk. I buy other things from China/Thailand and they are great items, but not beanie boos.

  • #62

    FluffyBoo (Wednesday, 12 July 2017 17:45)

    I got fake beanie boo turtle but i like it i dont care if it is fake :)

  • #63

    LOVES EXCLUSIVES (Wednesday, 27 December 2017 21:17)

    I've bought 2 beanie boos from a Chinese seller and they are authentic but I have seen some chinese fakes such as the original 7.

  • #64

    Ella (Tuesday, 20 March 2018 04:01)

    I bought a bubblegum online about 7 years ago, today I just noticed that it is probably a fake. I bought it from a UK seller on eBay but, the swing tag doesn't have a saying or poem also the tush tag only has a ty heart and not Bubblegum has written on it. The tush tag also says copyright 2011 and not 2009, should have done my research more but, I was new to collecting back then.

  • #65

    MusicalMutt (Saturday, 13 June 2020 23:21)

    So,I ordered Quinn and Lindi from eBay and guess what!? They're fakes! Quinn didn't have a tush tag nor a swing tag. Lindi was missing he rmouth,and her tag said something that hasn't been on the beanies I have,it didn't say "okabrook" and her tag shape was different then my real lindi! It's such a disappointment that people make fakes!

  • #66

    Beanie Boo Wolf (Wednesday, 06 January 2021 18:03)

    I've seen the fake peanut on eBay before ¬_¬ I don't understand why people make fake beanie boos.

  • #67

    Belgian collector (Friday, 15 January 2021 15:16)

    Is it true that beanie boos originally sold in the UK, don't have a poem on their tag. I think I read somewhere that uk- tags usually don't hae poems?

  • #68

    Daphne (beanieboocollection) (Sunday, 24 January 2021 19:18)

    @Belgian collector, Are you also really from Belgium? That's cool! I'm from the Flanders :)
    Yes, it's true that the first releases of the UK had no poem, only the USA ones.

  • #69

    heather (Thursday, 11 March 2021 14:36)

    why penut why what did ty do to deserve this.

  • #70

    Dan (Friday, 18 February 2022 19:21)

    I just bought Romeo the gorilla for my daughter, Tush tag says Italy but there are some strang things. 1. No poem 2. No birthday 3. The tush tag is red, while the hang tag is purple. Seller said, "The Romeo Beanie Boos were one of the very first Beanie Boos produced with a first and second generation hang tag both Purple and lighter in color they were never produced with a Red Heart tag. The item I sent you is a genuine purchased directly from Ty UK which do not have a poem or birthday but do have an extra swing tag inside where the heart tags is these also had red tush tags at the end of the production run .You may also google Ty Romeo Beanie Boos and see." Is this a fake?

  • #71

    Daphne (beanieboocollection) (Saturday, 19 February 2022 16:59)

    @Dan, Hi! It's very normal that the EU releases from 2010-2011 don't have poems or birthdays, they only added these later like on the USA ones. Over the years the production of Beanie Boos became more unified over different fabrics all over the world (right now meaning every Boo has a birthday and poem).
    Personally my Romeo also doesn't have a poem or birthday on its tag, but the heart tag and the tush tag are both purple. It can be the case though, as the seller states, that in this transition period (purple to red), these two were a bit mixed up. Depends in which year that Romeo was made, because some Beanie Boos were produced over a long period of time. I hope this kinda helps with your question :) Take care!

  • #72

    BeanieBooLover4658 (Friday, 12 May 2023 02:59)

    Hi! I don’t really see anything wrong but now that I look at it…the fabric is wrong and you can also look at the Beanie Boo tush tag.But when I got a Iceberg Beanie Boo It only came with the name.No poem.No birthday.No anything but the Beanie Boo and the tush tag! Can someone tell me if it’s fake?

  • #73

    Daphne (beanieboocollection) (Monday, 15 May 2023 14:38)

    @BeanieBooLover4658, I don't think your Iceberg is a fake since the original Beanie Boos that were produced in the UK after the original 7, didn't come with a poem or birthday, it was just their plane name. I have the same one that you have.

  • #74

    cool boo collection(yt) (Tuesday, 11 July 2023 18:13)

    Do you think my piper is fake? I got her for less than 10 dollars and her ear looks like it was sewn on... She sits really awkward and she looks weird... She does have a tag though...